Pl. Mitskevycha, 1 – "Under the Three Hooks" Hotel, "De La Russie" (no longer extant) ID: 973
The oldest of Lviv's hotels. The first hotel on this site — "Under the Three Hooks" — was established in 1793 by Georg Hoffmann (1778–1839). In 1811, on its site, the owner constructed a new hotel, "De la Russie", which opened to visitors on December 3, 1811. It was a Neoclassical building featuring two carriage entrance gates facing the square and a large garden extending toward pl. Khorunshchyny (now vul. P. Сhaikovskoho). Pavilions and gazebos were arranged in the garden, one of which, designed in the form of a Greek temple, was built in 1848 by architect V. Ravskyi Sr. The hotel's pediment was decorated with Empire-style sculptural compositions executed prior to 1811 (according to Yuriy Biryulov, nearly identical to Hartman Witwer's reliefs on the Hausner house at present-day 1–3 prosp. Svobody). Until 1894, the German cultural society "Frohsinn", complete with its own theater, also gathered in the old hotel. The hotel was dismantled in April 1899.