Vul. Vicheva, 2 – Church of All Saints (former benedictine church)
The former Benedictian Roman Catholic Church (1597-1616, presently the Church of All Saints) with the convent building. The church building is an integral part of the architectural ensemble including the nuns’ cells and the entrance gate (the southern façade of the church and the eastern wing of the cells look out on a wide common yard). The architecture of the complex – located outside of the old city walls – had a defense character. According to its style features, it belongs to the late Renaissance/ Mannerism (decoration of the tower’s attic) with a later Baroque addition (the cells and the entrance gate). There are several periods in the construction chronology: 1597-1616 (the architect Pavlo Rymlianyn), 1608-1610 (the defensive wall is erected), 1611-1687 (the cells), 1627 (church reconstruction after fire, by the architect Jan Pokorovych).
The church is a stone structure, has one nave, a polygonal apse and a rectangular tower adjacent to the church on the southeast. The gable roof has a fleche along its axis. The façade and the tower are strengthened by buttresses. The semicircular windows are set in deep niches. The façade’s white stone carved portals and the attic were made in 1627. The space of the nave is divided into three sections and covered with a cross-vaulted ceiling.
The main part of the convent building stands by the church on the southeastern side. It is a two-storey stone building with a complex configuration in its foundation. On the façade, the arched loggias are complemented with sculptures (of the seventeenth century). The unique construction of the cross-vaulted ceiling supported by just one pillar is one of the main focuses of the interior.
The entry was developed within the project "Galiciana", 2001-2002
Material compiled by Ihor Zhuk
Media Archive Materials