Vul. Lychakivska, 171 – school building ID: 1025
The former Bartłomiej Zimorowic School (1892). The building is set back significantly from the street building line on a standalone plot. In 1935, a fourth story was added according to a design by architect Adam Koryakiewicz. The design of the stairwell and the reinforced concrete floor slab for the fourth story was executed by engineer Rudolf Matula. In the 1970s, a new structure was added to the rear of the old building. In 1965, a bust of Taras Shevchenko (sculptors – Yakiv Chaika, Emanuel Mysko) was erected on a pedestal in front of the school façade, which is virtually the first monument to Shevchenko in the city. Today, Secondary School No. 63 operates in the building.
Architecture
The building was erected in the Modernist style with elements of the "Zakopane style". It is a four-story brick structure; the first and second floors are faced with yellow brick, the plinth is made of red brick, and the upper story is plastered. The composition of the principal elevation is symmetrical, featuring a centrally located avant-corps. A profiled stringcourse runs between the first and second floors, while a prominent profiled cornice separates the upper levels. The corners of the building are accented with sunken rustication. At the second-floor level on the right side, there is a molded coat of arms of the city of Lviv. The windows of the first and second floors are adorned with profiled architraves, which are topped with linear pediments on the second floor.
The monument is a characteristic example of late nineteenth-century public architecture in Lviv.
Organizations
Sources
- Державний архів Львівської області (ДАЛО) 2/2/389: 120-140.
- Львів. Туристичний путівник. (Львів: "Центр Європи", 1999, С. 163).
- Lwów. Ilustrowany przewodnik. (Lwów: Centrum Europy. –Wrocław: Via Nowa, 2001, S. 218).