Vul. Levytskoho, 4 – residential building ID: 94

A residential building executed in the style of Historicism with Neoclassical features. It was constructed presumably in the second half of the nineteenth century; the author of the original design is unknown. In 1873, the magistrate approved a project to install a new fire-resistant galvanized sheet metal roof and restore the façade (designed by builder Sylwester Berski) for Countess Ludwika Niezabitowska.

Story

Key construction dates:

1873: On May 10, 1873, the magistrate approved a project to install a new fire-resistant galvanized sheet metal roof and restore the façade of the townhouse at ul. Kochanowskiego 4 under conscription number 719 1/4. The project was executed by builder Sylwester Berski for Countess Ludwika Niezabitowska.

1938: On April 21, 1938, builder Piotr Tarnawiecki drafted a design for the addition of a one-story shop in the courtyard of the building at ul. Kochanowskiego 4 for the property owner, Wiktor Słoniewski. The magistrate approved the project on April 30, 1938.

Architecture

The residential building is integrated into the continuous perimeter development of the street. It is a two-story, plastered brick structure. The building is designed in the style of Historicism with Neoclassical features. The composition of the main façade is asymmetrical, featuring an entrance gate shifted to the left. Molded belt courses run between the first and second floors and along the bottom of the second-floor windows. The second-floor windows are adorned with molded frames. The building is topped with a prominent molded cornice. The roof is a gable type, covered in sheet metal and punctuated by small dormer windows.

People

Sylwester Berski — builder, author of the façade restoration and new roof design.
Sabina Kasparek — resident of a ground-floor apartment in the building (1920s).
Ludwika Niezabitowska — countess, owner of the building (1873).
Wiktor Słoniewski — attorney, owner of the building (1928, 1938). He practiced law at ul. 3 Maja 21 (now vul. Sichovykh Striltsiv) and resided at 5 ul. Szymonowiczów (now vul. Melnyka).
Piotr Tarnawiecki — architect, author of the design for the retail shop addition.

Sources

ДАЛО 2/1/5298

Citation

Khrystyna Kharchuk. "Vul. Levytskoho, 4 – residential building". Lviv Interactive (Center for Urban History, 2008). URL: https://lia.lvivcenter.org/en/objects/levytskoho-4/

Author(s): Khrystyna Kharchuk

Language editor: Uliana Holovata